Published Writing

Posted on April 9, 2015. Filed under: storytelling, writing | Tags: , , , , , , |

My short story, “What Are the Odds,” was published in the March 2015 edition of the Northern Virginia Review.  Read all about it or purchase a copy here.

The publication had a nice author reception, with a few readings and some free copies of the issue. It was fun to be around other creative writers for the afternoon.  And, I must admit, it felt good to see my name printed in a thick magazine with a bunch of other authors.  Usually, when I see my name in lights (yes, the issue came with built-in LEDs) it’s beside other storytellers announcing an upcoming storytelling show. I am proud of all of those shows, but my heart did an extra leap or two at seeing my story published, like, in print.  I’ll have to try it again sometime.

The short nonfiction piece was an adaptation of a spoken word story I told for Better Said Than Done. I have performed over thirty original, true, personal stories at this point in my storytelling career. I don’t write all of the stories out. In fact, as I have gotten more comfortable with the true, personal storytelling format, I rarely write my stories out anymore. Luckily, “What Are the Odds” was one story I had felt needed to be worked through on a computer, since it made use of percentages as a motif, and I am not great with numbers. The fact that it was already in written form made it an obvious choice for a story to submit for publication.

I did rewrite it a bit before submitting it for consideration. It is much easier to adapt a performed story I have written out to the page than to adapt one I have created entirely in my head, not only because it saves me from having to type it out, but also because the way purely spoken stories are formed.  Stories sound more like conversation when you “write” them in your head and through speaking aloud, which is great, if the goal is to perform them. If the goal is to get a story published, the additional work in translating one amounts to basically writing the whole story – other than the structure – from scratch.  The way we read is different from the way we listen. Therefore, the way I write for a listener is different than the way I write for a reader.

That being said, “What Are the Odds” is the second story I have had published that stemmed from a story I first performed. I’m thinking I have about 28 other stories I should see about whipping into shape for publication. I think I’ll start with the ones that are already written out.

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Published Writing”

RSS Feed for Jessica Piscitelli – Writer Comments RSS Feed

Congratulations!

Thank you Roger.

Congratulations, Jessica! I’m looking forward to reading this and more in the future.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

