Pregnant Story

Posted on March 3, 2014. Filed under: storytelling | Tags: , , , |

I told a twenty-two minute story at the last Better Said Than Done storytelling show. The theme of the night was “When I Grow Up,” and my story was about the little girl I gave birth to seven months ago, or, rather, about my pregnancy with that little girl.

This was the hardest story I have ever told. It’s funny, I have told two stories about my dad dying of cancer, and one about my mom, and didn’t even flinch getting through them. Tell one story about the potential dangers my little girl faced, and I was crying through half of rehearsal. One of the storytellers, during rehearsal, even made it a point to tell me that crying on stage probably wouldn’t “play well” with the audience. I, of course, know this. But the fact that she felt she needed to say something, shows you what a mess I was during rehearsal.

Here is the video of my performance of the story a week later. You can judge for yourself whether I pulled it off.

For anyone who has never been pregnant, this is a little glimpse into what that can be like. For anyone who has not been pregnant since the advent of the level 2 ultrasound, this is a peak at the world we live in today. And for anyone who experienced complications during pregnancy, hopefully this story shows that you are not alone. I hope you have come through it with a healthy baby. Having experienced so much fear for the life of my unborn child, I can only hope that others who have suffered in a similar fashion find happiness and health at the end of the journey.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Pregnant Story”

RSS Feed for Jessica Piscitelli – Writer Comments RSS Feed

Powerful story, Jessica. An important one to share.

Thank you. Yes, unfortunately I think a lot of couples have similar experiences.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

