The War of Art

Posted on July 9, 2013. Filed under: writing | Tags: , , , |

I just finished reading “The War of Art,” by Steven Pressfield.  I highly recommend it to any aspiring writer, artist, musician or really anyone who is just aspiring.  I don’t read a lot of self help, motivational, or even how to books, so I don’t have a lot to compare it to – other than maybe “Bird by Bird,” by Anne Lamott. As far as that goes – I would also recommend that book – though I did find this one more motivational.

“The War of Art” was recommended at a seminar I attended about a year ago and it peaked my interest.  Al Madrigal, one of the Daily Show writers, said he never left home without this book, so I figured it was worth checking out.  The book deals a lot with blocks.  What keeps us from doing what we should be doing?  I like Pressfield’s no nonsense approach to the would be artist. It was very much a “stop making excuses and get to it” kind of approach.  And really, that is always good to hear.

The first part of the book was a lot better than the last section.  The first two sections deal with identifying things that get in the way of us doing our art – in my case writing.  And the second part deals with how to overcome what he calls resistance.  The third part of the book got a little hokey for my taste, but the book is still worth reading for the first two sections – especially if you ever had that nagging feeling you didn’t quite get done as much writing, painting, or programming as you really should have today.

Not that I have ever thought that – but just in case I ever do, it’s good to have someone telling you to get over yourself and just do it.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

