Heading to Camp

Posted on June 26, 2013. Filed under: writing | Tags: , , , |

I am going camping.  The National Novel Writing Month people are hosting a summer camp this July, and I have already been assigned a cabin.  Unfortunately, this is not the fun kind of summer camp, ie “Meatballs.”  This is a virtual camp, where the goal is to write a novel in a month.  But at least there is less chance of getting Lyme disease at this camp.

If you are interested in finding out more, or jumping in, check out the website: www.campnanowrimo.org

I like that they offer a word count goal and that they help break it down for you in terms of how many words you need to write per day.  I arbitrarily chose 50,000 as my goal, as I believe that is a reasonable word count for a novel.  The camp counselors broke that down for me into 1600 words a day.  Basically, to write 50,000 words in a month, I have to average 1600 words per day.

As much as that actually sounds do-able, I am kind of cheating.  I have about 20,000 words already written. So, for me, this novel in a month thing should be a piece of cake, or a piece of s’mores.  (And I am sure it will be! :-))

In any case, if you are looking for a little motivation to write this July, check out summer camp.  It’s free, and you don’t even have to take a school bus to get there.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

