Storytelling Teacher, nay, Coach

Posted on May 5, 2013. Filed under: storytelling, writing | Tags: , , , , , , , |

I am so behind on blogging. The good news is, it’s because I have been so busy! I have been writing, and working, and storytelling.  Lots of storytelling.

I am going to, in the next few days, I think, get around to sharing videos and notes from my last few storytelling shows, but wanted to take a moment to talk about what I will be busy with next Saturday – teaching.  Specifically, teaching storytelling.

My storytelling company, Better Said Than Done, has been offering storytelling workshops for over a year now.  I do share the responsibility of teaching with three other wonderful storytellers, so haven’t lead every workshop, but have been involved in quite a few at this point and I love it.

Better Said Than Done StorytellingOne of my students said to me, “You are not really teaching so much as coaching” and I thought that sounded perfect.  In our workshops, we do offer notes on structure, tips on character building, and general guidance from our years as writers and storytellers, but a big part of what we do is listen to the students, listen to their stories, and then help them figure out what they are trying to say.  It’s the part I love best, because it is always new and exciting, especially for the students, who get to have that “aha moment” when it finally clicks – “that’s what I meant!”

You don’t always get those moments, on your own, as a writer.  So it’s nice to help others find those moments. It’s great to help people discover something that might have taken them a long time to figure out or that maybe they would have otherwise missed.

I am teaching one more workshop, on May 11th, before I take a break to deal with having a baby, and other pressing matters. I already have a four week workshop lined up for September, and am excited for that to start. I am sure the newborn, due August 1st, will be able to take care of herself by then.

If interested in signing up for my last storytelling workshop for a while, read more about it here.  And hurry up and register, because it’s less than a week away!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

