On A Roll, like the Ravens

Posted on February 20, 2013. Filed under: writing | Tags: , , , , , |

Shocking, I know, but I am not much of a sports fan. It’s not that I don’t enjoy watching games – I just don’t care who wins. So please don’t take this personally if you are a 49ers fan.

I watched the Super Bowl this year, like a few other Americans, and found it one of the best games I’d seen in decades. Considering the Super Bowl is pretty much the only game I watch every year, I had to go back a long way.

It was very clear that the Ravens were on a roll. They were winning through most of the first half and then, at the start of the second, it became obvious that there was no way the 49ers could recover. And then the power went out.

I have heard a lot of people say that if the Ravens lost, they would have blamed it on the power outage. (I am guessing from the jokes I’ve heard that they have a reputation for placing blame?) But after the power came back on, all I kept thinking was, if the Ravens lose, it would be due to the power outage. They had been on a roll, going forward with nothing to stop them, and then bam, their roll was broken.

Last year, there were a few months that I found myself on a roll. I wrote chapter after chapter and was really happy with the work I was producing and then bam, the holidays hit. For me, it was a combination of having a ton of end of the year work, having to travel all over for family, and having to “do” the holidays – parties, shopping, cooking, etc.

This year, it’s been hard for me to regain my stride. I lost it. It was like the power went out and I had to start all over.

Last week, I got on what I hope is a roll. I started doing some serious work on my novel again. I accomplished all the pages I wanted to get done, all the edits I wanted to get done, and figured out some upcoming plot points. It felt good. Hopefully, it will keep flowing again and I won’t hit another bam in the road before I get through the next ten or fifteen chapters to get this book to where it needs to be.

In writing, like in sports, or in many other occupations, it really helps to have momentum. Here’s hoping I can keep going forward with nothing to stop me.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “On A Roll, like the Ravens”

RSS Feed for Jessica Piscitelli – Writer Comments RSS Feed

As is often the case in football, I’m cheering you on from my living room.

Thanks Mary. Like in sports, I could use a good cheerleader!

Best of luck. One important recommendation: Don’t have a child. That will end your roll faster than any blackout possibly could. 🙂

Well crap. If only you had told me that four months ago!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

