The “Right” Writing Style Conclusion

Posted on June 14, 2012. Filed under: storytelling, writing | Tags: , , , , |

A couple weeks ago I wrote about trying to change the way I write my stories that I perform for Better Said Than Done.  I just wanted to follow up with what actually happened.

In trying to work on the story, I talked it out with a few people, mostly through rehearsal. I spoke it out loud a few times, trying to work on being conversational. I struggled with that because I kept feeling like I was trying to find the words and map out where I was going while I was talking. I finally decided I needed to write the story out like I usually do. So I did.

Then something funny happened. As soon as I wrote it out, finding the structure I was looking for, I realized that I already knew it. I had needed to write it out to put all the pieces together in the right order, but from having said it out loud, and having lived it, I already knew all the pieces.  Once they were put together, I didn’t even need to read the written piece to know it.

It ended up being a bit of a merging of styles, in the end.

Here is the finished product. A story from the Better Said Than Done Show, “Our Bodies, Our Selves.”

Might try that method for our next show “Independence Day – stories of declarations, freedom, and fireworks” on June 30th at 7PM at Epicure Cafe in Fairfax, VA.
 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

