Storytelling for Professionals

Posted on June 19, 2011. Filed under: storytelling | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , |

The seminar Freddi Donner and I ran at McLean Bible Church, for their career network, was a great success.  Freddi put together the program and hand outs and ran most of the show.  I was there mostly as a storyteller.  Freddi introduced me and I told the story of my career as a filmmaker, videographer, and, ultimately, business owner.  The idea was to illustrate challenges and successes, and hopefully to show people how challenges can turn into successes.

I really enjoyed working with Freddi, and I enjoyed presenting a story to a group of professionals, catered to a professional environment.  The great thing about storytelling is that it is unique to the individual, but everyone has stories that can be adapted to different environments.  I have told stories about marathon running, hiking, SCUBA diving, love, dating, being a woman and business.  Some of those stories were for performances that were for laughs or fun, and some of them were for professional seminars and were meant to educate or to motivate.

I look forward to creating more unique stories designed to fit a lot of different environments in the future.  Being flexible about storytelling is both a challenge and something I hope will be another success.

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

