Fan-Freaking-Tastic Awesomeness

Posted on June 30, 2010. Filed under: storytelling | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

This past Saturday I performed a story at Fan-Freaking-Tastic.  It was great.  I mean, my story was great – but the event was awesome.

Host Vijai Nathan was, as expected, pretty funny and just plain pretty.  Seriously, this lady knows how to make an audience love her.  Now, if only she could do that with a nice boy!

Vijai, who create Fan-Freaking-Tastic, also brought together a group of very talented performers, if I do say so myself.  I was laughing the whole time.  Thank God Chief Ike’s has a bathroom, or there would have been a lot of pee stains in that place.  I’m just sayin.

I did bring my handy dandy video camera, so you can see for yourself how great the performances were.

The Evans Brother’s Band opened the night with some great music.  Click here for a taste.

Nevin Martell had the unenviable task of being the night’s first storyteller, but then he brought up piranhas and Glenlivets and had the crowd eating out of the palm of his delicious looking hands.  Check it out here.

Meredith Maslich, who, let’s face it, gets around, proved why she is such a storytelling darling with her story about James Bond meeting Glenn Beck on the set of the Lucy show.  You can see Meredith live in July at Oh Mother and you can also see her story from this past weekend here.

Jonathan B. Tucker single handedly redeemed the name of slam poets everywhere with his poem, “Stop, Poet!” and definitely had all the girls in the audience vying for a chance to pick him after his poem, “Pick Me.”  Watch them both here.

Dustin Fisher, another one of the star performers you will see at Oh Mother, dusted off his ole guitar and, Arlo Guthrie style, sang us a song about food.  Though he avoided the group W bench, he did end up in the dog house and you can find out all about his heartbreak here.

Mark Jaster brought mime and saw picking back to light with a performance you really have to see to believe.  Check out his silent and musical act here.

I had a lot of fun with my story.  I updated the very first SpeakeasyDC story I ever told.  Back then, I was single and looking, and I didn’t think my man would like it if I started my story off that way this time.  So I changed the beginning and ending and added a bit more color throughout, to bring it up to Fan-Freaking-Tastic standards.  The high point had to be when some unknown audience member yelled “Love your boobs.”  You could tell, my story really moved them.  You can hear the catcalls and my tale of love on the high seas here.

The very funny and soon to be living happily ever after comic Seaton Smith brought the night to a close and the house down with his very thoughtful look at Martin Luther King Jrs. life and loves.  Click here with caution.  Don’t take a sip of anything before watching.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Fan-Freaking-Tastic Awesomeness”

RSS Feed for Jessica Piscitelli – Writer Comments RSS Feed

[…] love the Fan-Freaking-Tastic shows. See all the performances from the last one I did here. They are always super fun and Vijai Nathan is always the hostess with the […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

