Juggling Act

Posted on June 25, 2010. Filed under: Commentaries, storytelling | Tags: , , , , , , , , |

I was just part of a panel discussion last night and one of the women there really summed up my life.  Jo Golden, of Chaos to Clarity, spoke about a fictional character named Jane.  Jane was a French teacher, landscaper and fine artist.  Jane wanted a website to grow her businesses but everyone kept telling her she needed to have three separate identities.  In the end, Chaos to Clarity helped Jane define her story so that all the seemingly disparate elements of her life came together into the story of a highly educated, artistic landscaper and hands on artist.

This week, I have definitely felt very disparate.  I have been finishing up editing a wedding for my company Jessica Pi Productions, as well as discussing with a bride’s family being the videographer for a wedding NEXT MONTH.  I had to prepare for, promote, and be part of a 2 hour panel discussion on Content Strategy for the Web, in which I, wearing my Capture Video, Inc. hat, explained video’s place in the world of online marketing and SEO.  That was last night.  Today I am preparing for and promoting my upcoming performance, Fan Freaking Tastic – THIS SATURDAY! at Chief Ike’s.  I am performing a story, but it is for a comedy crowd, so I had to punch up the humor.  I am also trying to bring all the promotional items and details together for the upcoming Nature House storytelling event in July – to raise money for the Nature House, as the chair of the marketing committee and a storyteller.  And, on top of all of that, I have had to schedule in my next studio time at WAMU to record my next commentary which, as fate would have it, is all about trying to make time – and failing.

I can’t say I don’t love most of what I do and all the different hats that I wear.  I just sometimes wish I had learned to juggle.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Juggling Act”

RSS Feed for Jessica Piscitelli – Writer Comments RSS Feed

Oh do I feel your pain! We have much in common and I think it’s why I’m drawn to work with “Janes” who need what I need (although I had not thought of juggling lessons–thanks for the thought).

I hope the performance is fanfreakingtastic! and looking forward to catching you on the airwaves.

It was great seeing you last night and learning from your presentation!

Wow. You really are a multi-talented “Jane.” Film, performances, commentaries, etc.

I’ve been listening to your commentaries on WAMU for a couple of years now (I think–not sure how long you’ve been doing them). I didn’t make the connection that you were the voice I’ve been listening to til I pulled up an archive this morning. So cool to have met you last night.

Oh, and your SpeakeasyDC stuff is hilarious.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

