Rejection opens doors

Posted on June 2, 2010. Filed under: Short Stories, writing | Tags: , , |

So, I keep forgetting to check my special “writing” email address.  I figure now that I am submitting to a ton of places (and yes, most of them make you fill out all sorts of info and/or subscribe before submitting), I didn’t want to use my normal email address.  So I got a fresh one and promptly fogot to check it.

I remember every week or so.  And I know, you are thinking, but what about all those offers that are pouring in while you are forgetting to check your email?  Well, that’s what I think, at least, every time I do remember.  Alas, I generally just find, like I did today, that I have a couple more rejections to post to my duotrope tracker.

The way I look at it though, is every time a piece I’ve submitted gets rejected, that piece of writing is mine again.  It’s like, when it is out there, in the hands of an editor, it’s been optioned, like a screenplay.  I can’t do anything else with it while that editor is thinking it over.  So, that rejection letter is like a green light for me.  That story is free at last!  It can move on to bigger, and I am quite certain, better places.

So, yeah, that’s the slant I am going with this week.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

